PML-N, PPP win majority in Punjab, Sindh LB polls


LAHORE (Web Desk / Reuters) – The ruling Pakistan Muslim League-Nawaz (PML-N) has won the majority of seats in Punjab and the Pakistan Peoples Party (PPP) has secured most seats in Sindh in the local government elections, according to unofficial results released on Sunday.

The local polls, the first in 10 years, were held on Saturday in the twelve districts including Lahore, Faisalabad, Gujrat, Chakwal, Bhakkar, Nankana Sahib, Kasur, Pakpattan, Okara, Lodhran, Vehari and Bahawalnagar of central province of Punjab and eight districts including Sukkur, Khairpur, Shikarpur, Kashmore, Ghotki, Larkana, Shahdadkot and Jacobabad of the southern province of Sindh.

The two other provinces, Khyber Pakhtunkhwa in the northwest and Balochistan in the west, voted earlier this year.

In the local polls held earlier this year, the PTI won in Khyber Pakhtunkhwa in May but the PML-N and its allies came out on top in Balochistan in January.

Local bodies, in which voters elect councillors directly, devolve administrative and financial powers to lower tiers of electoral bodies.PUNJAB ELECTION RESULTS

According to unofficial results, the PML-N led with 1,104 out of 2,696 UC seats, with independent candidates gaining the second position with 915 seats in the first phase of local government elections in Punjab.

Imran Khan’s Pakistan Tehreek-i-Insaaf (PTI) party only won 256 seats and the PPP secured 100 posts of union council chairman/vice-chairman.

In Okara, the PML-N clinched 137 slots of UC chairman and the PTI 21. Ninety-twooffices went to independents while PPP secured 20 seats.

In Kasur, the PML-N won 127, followed by independents 89 and PTI 85.

In Gujrat, the PML-N bagged 93 seats, independents 51 and PML-Q 35.

In Bahawalnagar, independent candidates won 162 seats, PML-N 52 and Muslim League Zia secured three UC slots.

In Bhakar, 27 seats went to the N-League, 36 to independents and one to the PPP.

In Vehari district, 54 seats were won by the PML-N candidates, independent candidates 81, PTI 27 and the PPP secured only 3 seats.

In Lodhran, PML-N grabbed 71, independent candidates 82, and PTI won 13 seats.

In Nankana Sahib, PML-N secured 62 seats, independent candidates 62, PTI 20 and PPP got two seats.

In Pakpattan, PML-N succeeded in clinching 61 UC seats, independent candidates 52, PTI 21 and Awami Tehreek won one seat.


According to unofficial results, the PPP secured a thumping majority in eight districts of Sindh, followed by independents and the PML-Functional.
The ruling PPP in Sindh has won 772 seats so far.

In Sukkur, the PPP won 91 seats while the independent candidates secured 13 seats. MQM and Functional League won four seats each.

The PPP remained top in Larkana with 139 seats, with independent candidates gaining the second position with 16 seats. PML-F and JUI-F won one seat each.

In Khairpur, the PPP grabbed 150 seats, PML-F 72 seats, independents 19 and JUI-F secured only one seat.

In Jacobabad, PPP is leading with 81 seats, independent candidates 10, JUI-F 4 and PML-N won only one seat.

The PPP won 81 seats in Kashmore, independents 41, JUI-F 2 and Peoples Party Worker clinched one seat.

In Ghotki, the PPP remained successful in clinching 111 seats, independents 35, PML-F 11 and Tehreek-e-Insaf won 5 seats only.

In Qambar Shahdadkot, PPP grabbed 111 seats and independents won 38seats.



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here