PML-N, others submit nomination papers for NA Speaker


ISLAMABAD : Pakistan Muslim League-Nawaz (PML-N), which emerged as the victorious party in the May 11 elections, nominated Sardar Ayaz Sadiq for the post of speaker National Assembly (NA) and Murtaza Javed Abbasi for deputy speaker on Sunday.The main opposition Pakistan People’s Party (PPP) fielded Nawab Yousuf as its candidate for the office of the speaker and Ghulam Rasool for deputy speaker.Earlier, Sadiq defeated Pakistan Tehreek-i-Insaf (PTI) chief Imran Khan in a Lahore constituency in the general elections whereas Abbasi grabbed NA-18 Abbottabad-II.Meanwhile, the Muttahida Qaumi Movement (MQM) fielded S A Iqbal Kadri for speaker and Kishwar Zehra for deputy speaker respectively.The PTI nominated Shaharyar Afridi from Kohat and Munazza Hassan, an MNA on a reserved seat for woman from Punjab, as its candidates for the posts of speaker and deputy speaker.The nomination papers of all the candidates were declared valid and subsequently submitted in the National Assembly.176594_91381306The scrutiny of the nomination papers will take place by 2:00 pm on Sunday (today) and the election for the posts will be held tomorrow at 11:00 am.



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here