PAT’s steering committee to meet today to decide future protest strategy


LAHORE: Pakistan Awami Tehreek’s (PAT) steering committee, formed after the opposition parties’ all parties conference (APC) on the Model Town incident, will meet today to decide the next course of action after the APC deadline for resignations from Punjab Chief Minister Shehbaz Sharif and Law Minister Rana Sanaullah ended on Sunday.

PAT leader Khurram Nawaz Gandapur said that opposition parties have agreed to attend the steering committee meeting scheduled for today.

In the meeting, the opposition parties will decide the future course of action to be taken after the given deadline for resignations of Shehbaz Sharif and Rana Sanaullah over the Model Town inquiry report ended.

Gandapur said that he has contacted Pakistan Tehreek-e-Insaf leader Jahanghir Tareen, Pakistan Peoples Party representative Manzoor Watto, Pakistan Muslim League-Q leader Chaudhry Pervaiz Elahi and Awami Muslim League chief Sheikh Rashid to attend the meeting.

On December 30, 2017 the PAT-led APC decided January 7 deadline for CM Shehbaz Sharif, provincial Law Minister Rana Sanaullah and others responsible for the Model Town incident to resign.

Addressing the joint press conference, PAT chief Dr Tahir-ul-Qadri told journalists that in case the January 7 deadline was not met, the steering committee would announce the future plan of action on January 8 (today) which may include sit-ins in Lahore or across the country.

Related Posts you may like