NA-120 Lahore by-election results: Begum Kulsoom Nawaz wins by 13,268 votes


LAHORE: (Web Desk, ) – Complete result of NA-120 by-election has been obtained and Begum Kulsoom Nawaz of Pakistan Muslim League – Nawaz (PML-N) has emerged victorious with 59,413 votes while Pakistan Tehreek-e-Insaf s (PTI) Dr Yasmin Rashid remained the runner-up with 13,268 votes. A tough was observed between Begum Kulsoom Nawaz and Dr Yasmin Rashid. Other popular candidates included Pakistan People s Party s (PPP) Faisal Mir, Jamaat Islami s (JI) Zia ud-Din Ansari and Milli Muslim League s (MML) supported candidate Yaqoob Sheikh.

Yaqoob Sheikh was the surprise package of the election as they remained third in the contest despite contesting elections for the first time.

Key information about NA-120 constituency:

The constituency has been divided into 5 police zones, 11 circles, and 23 sub sectors while SPs and DSPs will be in charge of the zones and circles respectively. Six SPs, 17 DSPs, and seven thousand constables will be on duty within the constituency.

The constituency was vacated after former Prime Minister (PM) Nawaz Sharif was disqualified by Supreme Court of Pakistan on July 28 in Panama Papers case. Nawaz Sharif has been elected many times from this constituency and became prime minister twice from the same area.

9:34 pm: After the results of 192 polling stations, PML-N now leads with 53,671 votes while PTI follows with 40,386 votes. Kulsoom Nawaz s lead has now swelled to 13,285 votes.

Maryam Nawaz expresses gratitude over victory

Maryam Nawaz Sharif expressed gratitude over the victory of the party as she clapped along with the supporters at PML-N s Model Town office on the  Wazir-e-Azam Nawaz Sharif  slogans.

ECP declares the experiment of biometric machines successful

Election Commission of Pakistan (ECP) has declared the experiment of using biometric machines as successful. According to the initial reports, 88 percent of the thumb impressions were verified by these machines while those of 12% could not be recognised.

The voters were reported to be excited by the use of biometric machines. 100 machines were used on 39 polling stations and the detailed reports of the pilot project s results will be forwarded to the higher officials.

9:22 pm: Results of 185 polling stations have arrived and PML-N s Begum Kulsoom Nawaz now leads with 10,809 votes with 35 polling stations to go still. Begum Kulsoom Nawaz has 50,011 votes now while Dr Yasmin Rashid of PTI has secured 39,202 votes.

9:15 pm: PML-N has now risen to 49,176 votes while Yasmin Rashid has bagged 38,635 votes as results of 180 polling stations have arrived out of 220 polling stations.

9:12 pm: PML-N now leads with 9965 votes as the results of 175 polling stations arrive. Begum Kulsoom Nawaz has bagged 47,880 votes while Dr Yasmin Rashid has secured 37,915 votes.



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here