LB polls: ECP issues list of high sensitive, sensitive polling stations in Sindh, Punjab


ISLAMABAD (Web Desk) – The Election Commission of Pakistan on (Thursday) released a statement showing the number of high sensitive, sensitive and normal polling stations for first phase of the local government elections in Punjab and Sindh.

As per details, there are 16,266 polling stations in twelve districts including Lahore, Faisalabad, Gujrat, Chakwal, Bhakkar, Nankana Sahib, Kasur, Pakpattan, Okara, Lodhran, Vehari and Bahawalnagar, out of which, 3,551 polling stations have been declared high sensitive.

A total of 8,300 have been declared sensitive and 4,441 polling stations are normal.Separately, the ECP issued Code of Conduct for Media.

The statement says that neither any radio of television channel shall broadcast or telecast nor any print media shall publish anything that adversely affects the public opinion against a particular party or candidate.

The print and electronic media have been asked to refrain from disseminating information about any political party or candidate which is not supported by cogent evidence.

“Due care shall also be exercised by them (print/electronic media) to ascertain veracity of any information or news relating to a candidate before its telecasting, broadcasting or publish,” the commission said.

The print and electronic media have been directed to show authentic election results officially issued by the presiding officer, returning officer of the election commission.

The directives were issued by the ECP in exercise of its powers under Article 218 (3) and Punjab Local Governments (Conduct of Elections) Rules, 2013 and other power enabling it in that behalf.

Polling in the first phase of local government elections will take place on October 31 in Punjab and Sindh.election-security



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here