Committee for National Action Plan against Terrorism meets today


ISLAMABAD (Web Desk) – Committee for National Action Plan against Terrorism will hold its first meeting in Islamabad today (Friday).

Different political parties have nominated their lawmakers for the Committee to be headed by Interior Minister Chaudhry Nisar Ali Khan.

PPP has nominated Senator Rehman Malik, while PTI`s Shirin Mazari and JUI-F`s Akram Durrani will represent their parties.

MQM has proposed names of Dr. Farooq Sattar and Senator Babar Ghauri while Jamaat-e-Islami has nominated Farid Piracha and Sahibzada Tariq Ullah for the Committee.

Awami National Party has nominated Senator Afrasiab Khattak, Qaumi Watan Party Anisa Tahir Kheli and PML-Q Senator Mushahid Hussain Syed.

The decision to form the Committee was taken at a meeting of the leaders of Parliamentary parties in Peshawar and it will submit its recommendations to the political and military leadership within seven days.

The committee was formed after Tehreek-e-Taliban militants attacked an army-run school in the northwestern city of Peshawar, killing 149 people, mostly children.

The massacre shocked the world and prompted Prime Minister Nawaz Sharif to lift a moratorium on the death penalty for the convicted terrorists.



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here