Athletics: Farah, Van Niekerk, Barshim up for athlete of year


PARIS (AFP) – Britain s long distance star Mo Farah, South Africa s 400m champion Wayde Van Niekerk and Qatari high jumper Mutaz Essa Barshim were shortlisted Monday for the IAAF s world athlete of the year award.

One of this trio will succeed retired Jamaican sprint legend Usain Bolt, the current holder of the accolade, at a ceremony in Monaco on November 24.

Ethiopia s 10,000m Olympic champion Almaz Ayana is in the running to win a second successive women s world athlete of the year honour.

She is up against Greek polevault star Ekaterini Stefanidi and Nafissatou Thiam, Belgium s heptathlon Olympic and world gold medallist.

The men s and women s finalists were whittled down from an original list of 10 by a vote of IAAF council members, fans and fellow athletes.



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here